Are You Willing To Lose Some Content For A Better Second Life?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4740 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I was called a nazi the other night.  To be specific, I was called a Script-nazi.  Which in part has lead me to start this discussion and ask the question in the subject line. 

I am not sure what the number one complaint in SL is but I do know that lag is very high on the list.  And one of the big culprits as I understand it from the SL blogs (both the official and the unofficial ones) is Scripts.  Now I am not technically proficient enough to know this for a fact myself, but based upon what I have read, it sounds pretty plausible to me.

Two of the issues I have seen discussed are older scripts and poorly written newer scripts.  I have also heard re-size scripts brought to task as being nasty culprits. 

Now personally I did a little inventory of the items I most commonly wear.  There was no need for a 'glow' script in my boots.  My wrist cuffs, while I always wear them, I rarely use them.  So I made a copy, removed the scripts and wear those when I am out and about.  My hair has no scripts.  Nor my hat that I am never with out.  (OK, I do take it off in bed).

But all this got me puzzling, I shouldn't have to be doing all this work.  Except for the fact that I want to enjoy a lag free SL.  I also got to thinking it is probably a very small minority in SL who have any knowledge about the causes of lag.  And should it really be necessary to know?

But before this gets too long to read and I go off on every tangent in my brain atm, I have been in SL for close to 4 years now.  Sometime in late 2007, maybe early 2008, I remember there being a major change or upgrade to the Havok engine SL uses.  And I remember that upgrade did break some content in SL.