Question

Hello to everyone.

I'm new to SL (Since September) and i see a lot of people who have a "Home" . So there comes my question. I saw somewhere that only Premium Players can buy a "Home" is this true? Can i also as a FREE player buy or rent a Room/Home/Land?

Sorry if i posted that in wrong Thread. 

Stay safe and have fun,

Tainakachan.

5 answers to this question

One's own "home" inworld can be very comfortable as a steady place to return to, where you can get changed, just idle or hang out with friends, since you are not depending on some public space or someone else's grace.

When you are a premium member, you do get the option to claim a so called "Linden Home" as part of the membership. That's a plot which can be customized via menus and which is situated in a community-like setup with a ton of neighboring houses in a similar style. You have 175 prims available for your decoration and in case you don't like the overall style anymore, simply abandom the plot of land inworld and pick a new home from the website.

However, you also have numerous other options, which also don't require a premium membership.
For a new member, a nice little rental offer with an established landlord would probably be a good start. You can take your time to get used to SL and develop an idea of what kind of home preferences you might need in future. 

If you are interested in more advanced topics about the different options in SL, you can find a lot of helpful explanations on these forums, especially since "owning" land can be a quite tricky process in some aspects.

First, you need to understand that "a home" is just how you might want to call a place and does not really describe what someone actually has.