Newbie here with a quick question: I started off as a default vampire avatar called "Elleria." I now have a Maitreya mesh body (Lara) and a Catwa head (Cami), and I also purchased mesh eyes (simply titled "customeyes"). I want the shape of my character's eyes to be large and round (Google search Billie Lourd for an example), NOT slim (like Taylor Swift's eyes). The Cami head has slim eyes and is not Bento, which apparently means that I am unable to make the shape of her eyes rounder. Someone suggested that switching to a Bento head would solve the issue; however, regardless of the head I demo, I am unable to detach the original "Elleria eyes." Is there a way to do so? Am I missing something completely?!

Welcome, The WolvesGather! You cannot take the original "system" eyes off, but you do not need to since mesh eyes should have an alpha layer that will cover the old eyes and then when you add the mesh eyes, those will show. And it's good to do lots of demos since not all eyes fit all heads so well.

Edited by Sagadin
typo
  • Thanks 1

I'm a bit confused here...why do you think your standart avatars eyes (which you can never detach, as Sagadin pointed out) are an issue? All eyes are...well, "eye ball shaped" (just like all real life human eyes have the same shape, if you would take them out of the skull). What gives your eyes a round and open apperance or a slim one, is determindes by the shape of your head (and a little bit by skin and make up, of course).

Edited by Syo Emerald
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

There are a few things which can only be replaced, not detached or removed altogether. They are part of the software running SL at a very basic, fundamental level.

Your avatar has to have a skin, a shape, eyes and a hair base. Mesh body parts are attachments worn OVER all of this. The mesh body parts need their own skin as well. The system (pre-mesh) skin, system eyes and hair base will be made invisible by the mesh stuff.