Any TIPS on getting a script to run after llGiveInventory()

bmesh

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2401 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I'm trying to load a 3rd party script onto some prims (hud comms). We know theres an access PIN somewhere in the prims scripts. However having a hard time getting a response from the original developer/creator and would really prefer to not to dump a script like this (just developer plugin would be nice!) on every prim and of course their scripts already there are nomodify (maybe a notecard telling me the PIN???)

So if anyone knows of any tricks to get a script to run after llGiveInventory() without using llRemoteLoadScriptPin(). I've never done this before and a little bit frustrated I with the mess involved with overwrite/delete the previous script everytime I do an update or bug fix!

Any tips would be great thanks!

Thanks.

There's a difference between "getting a script to run" and "resetting a script".  As the section that Innula quote says, scripts will always arrive in Not Running status, as a protection against griefing. To make the script run again, just put it in a rezzed object.  Assuming that the object is designed in a way that the script expects ( that is, it has buttons or moving parts that the script was written to use), the script should start running at exactly the same point where it was when it was used last.  That's probably not what you want, though.  You really want it to reset -- to start running all over again.  To do that, you need to actually reset the script.  If you are really lucky, the scripter designed the script to reset as soon as it changes ownership, or when it is rezzed.  Otherwise, you need to have mod permissions to reset it, or you have to have some remote system (possibly with llRemoteLoadScriptPin) to do it.