Is it Price Fixing?

Paul Hexem

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2382 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

My friend has recently started looking into retexturing and selling mesh clothes like you see so many creators do.

However, while working with her, I noticed a lot of these mesh sellers have purchase agreements (we won't get into how including a notecard after the purchase doesn't count), and that these purchase agreements often say what price you have to list your merchandise at.

Now, I'm no lawyer, and most of our fellow forum residents aren't, but in the interest of conversation, I gotta ask- wouldn't that count as attempted price fixing? Which, of course, is technically illegal.

hmmm ... some statements:

- Do we have a business to business contract? - thats not possible between avatars only between RL persons
- why does the seller not pay the tax to my country if he delivers wares to me? LL takes the tax from me whenever I buy something from LL and hopefully pays it where it belongs. :) 

- If I don't payout Lindens regularly in not too small quantities there is not way to treat that as a business - if that is possible at all (virtual shop with virtual owner?).
- if I consider myself as customer, I can buy things and sell them for whatever price i want. Contracts like this are invalid. Even if the text is given to me in my language b4 I buy - still invalid.
- Even if this is valid in the USA - why would I care? One needs to sue me here at my place.
- Since this are copy-able objects it's more like a licence, like a software licence, but copying is allowed here. Between 2 business partners (RL persons or institutions) all kind of stuff could be set in a contract. A notecard send to me with the object is in no way a contract btw.