Script Practice

NikosTheWizard

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2443 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Greetings! I'm a rather new SL Player and wanting to, well make Lindens, i decided to take on scripting! I have very little experience with scripting laungages, but i wanna guess that so far i've managed to understand how LSL works. My request to you, the community. I want some ideas, random ones, of a script. Not very complex nor very easy, i wanna see if i can make them happen.
Thank ya :)

The universe is full of ideas.  I'm sure that your head is too.  The trick is to find a few that are comfortably simple, so you can practice.  I suggest perhaps starting with some of the simpler examples in the LSL wiki function pages.  Those are all guaranteed to work, so the learning challenge is to fiddle with them to make them do something a bit different.  Or maybe to write a script that does the same thing but in a different way. 

Have you already read up on the basics of LSL? Do you know what types, global and local variables, states, and events are?
You should read up on those before you try to script, otherwise you'll be in an even bigger world of confusion. If you have though..

A "light" that you can turn on/off with a single touch
Learning how to toggle things is very useful in a very wide variety of ways.
It doesn't have to be actual light, you could just use llOwnerSay to say either 1/0, or on/off.

A cube that changes its color randomly (touch or timer)
It'll teach you a little bit about vectors, random values, and primitive parameters.

A link set where each prim changes their color randomly -- different color for each prim
This builds on the previous task by needing a loop and having to figure out a proper structure for your code.

An object that repeats what is said in local chat.
llListen is something very commonly used in scripts as well. Knowing how to use it is essential.