Avatar not rendering, showing as a cloud

PupKai

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2445 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

My avater only shows up as a cloud. I did try all the steps here, http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/fs_bake_fail, with no luck. My avatar complexity is under 12,000, as I'm new to this and have no attachments. If I have a friend log in, they see me just fine. I've tried 3 computers on two internet connections, both wired and wireless, as well as the official sl viewer, Singularity and Firestorm, and every single time I log in, I'm a cloud. Yet everyone else sees me fine. Heck, my friend even logged in on two of my computers that have this issue, she showed up fine. 

8 answers to this question

You've done all the right things.  The problem is your Internet connection.  When you log in to SL, the Linden Lab servers have to send you a lot of background files, including the avatar details that allow your graphics card to render your avatar.  If the transmission is interrupted or if your files get corrupted along the way, the graphics card will not have what it needs to make you appear, so it goes to the default -- a fluffy cloud.  Believe it or not, this is a vast improvement over the days when avatar data was stored on your computer and then UPloaded to SL as you logged in.  In those days, if the files were corrupted, you might be able to see yourself, but nobody else could.

So, the first trick to try -- usually the only one you need -- is to improve your connection by rebooting both your router and your modem.  Just unplug them from the power for a few minutes, then replug and restart everything.  That should clear things up.  If it doesn't, we move on to plan B.