[Solved]Problem with Alpha textures on Mesh

Katherineluv23

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2454 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all

I'm working on a decorative bird statue. I have textured the feathers using a .tga file for transparency that i made in photoshop. It looks all nice and good in Maya but when i try to upload it to secondlife, the parts are the supposed to be invisible turn black, I've tried changing the texture to .png, but it just turn white instead of black, Any help ? i'm kind of new to this. I'm using Maya 2016.

Preview of the feather in Maya: n5WGVvW.jpg

But while previewing before uploading, the rectangular parts that should be transparent turn black and are visible in the preview window: ZS68LvR.jpg

Edited by Katherineluv23

I doubt that the preview window will display transparency. Try uploading the texture and see what happens in-world. If you are worried about the 10 L$ upload fee for the texture, try the beta grid.

Edited by arton Rotaru
  • Like 1

28 minutes ago, arton Rotaru said:

If you are worried about the 10 L$ upload fee for the texture, try the beta grid.

Or use the Local Textures option.  It's easier and also free.  I suspect that you are going to discover that you saved the texture as a 24-bit (RGB) file rather than a 32-bit (RGBA) file in Photoshop, so your alpha channel was never saved.

• Like 2

13 hours ago, arton Rotaru said:

I doubt that the preview window will display transparency. Try uploading the texture and see what happens in-world. If you are worried about the 10 L$ upload fee for the texture, try the beta grid.

No idea what the beta grid is, but you were right, the transparency works in game but just not in the preview window, this whole time i thought i've been doing something wrong but it was just the preview window limitation. I uploaded it now, and it looks as good as in Maya, Thanks :)

13 hours ago, Rolig Loon said: