Creating and Transferring a Custom clothing order

Skye0Lark

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2478 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hi everyone,

I am new to designing clothes and have received a request for a custom order someone wants to sell in their shop. Before I take this on I want to make sure I am doing this right for mine and the customer's sake.  Can anyone help guide me with the best way to set up and transfer items to be resold by another store?

Thank you for your time!

7 answers to this question

Make sure you have clear agreement about the price and permissions.

• If your client wants to resell, you have to give it to them with copy and transfer permissions, that's the only way. They probably want modify perms too. Remember to rez the items and set the permissions in-world. Permission changes done to items while they are in your inventory won't always stick.
  • Does the client want exclusive rights to the work you do for them? It's important you are clear about that in advance so there'll be no misunderstandings.

• Like 1

Thank you for answering ChinRey.  We haven't discussed exclusivity yet, thank you for mentioning that.  Very good to know about setting permissions while rezzed instead of in inventory. I didn't realize you can have problems with this.  I doubt seriously they would want modify enabled, but will double check.  Now I guess one easy way would be to just drop my vendor into the store and that way the customers buy from me. Decisions... decisions. :D

Any other guidance you can offer is truly appreciated! Thanks again.

Along with ChinRey's answer ----