Selectively recoloring certain prims

mrzeus7

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4757 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I'm pretty new to scripting and this project (if its possible) will be my biggest attempt at scripting.  Basically, I have an avatar (a free iron man one) and I want to be able to recolor certain prims at one time (also possibly changing glow and shininess parameters).  What I was originally planning is to go and name the prims I want to recolor something (say, "color1") and then using a script, I would find all with that name and use llSetPrimativeParams on each one.  Buuuut I've noticed that you can't seem to use that on a prim that isn't the scripted prim.  Is there any other way to do this?  

Thanks!

you can use the name or description fields to label your parts, then recolor/etc all the parts with that name or description...

but I'm guessing you only found the llGetObjectName and llGetObjectDesc functions, and missed the constants PRIM_NAME and PRIM_DESC for llGetLinkPrimitiveParams and llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast ?

those are the ones you want =)

Functions you will need to look into.

llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast set the parameter of any prim in a link

llGetLinkPrimitiveParams use to get name/description.

I have done something like this for a whole house. where in the name I have "Wall,Floor,Cieling" the description then contains the faces associated with each such as "1,2&3,4&5,6,7". so if you wanted to change the color of the Cieling the script would search thru all the prim looking for the word Cieling. It finds it is the 3rd word on a prim it then get the description looking for the 3rd set of numbers "5,6,7". can changes the colors for those faces.