Dipping my toes into clothes making

MegaRose

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2513 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I'm an artist, and I'm interested in seeing how well I can turn some of my existing artwork into clothing textures for SL.  I've never done this before, and have very little experience with 3d stuff at all.  I'm hoping, at the very least, that I can competently put pictures I've already drawn onto simple Tshirts to sell for like 1L$.  I made a very quick texture to test (file attached) and wanted to preview it in-game.  I don't have the 10L$ to upload it for real, and the preview image in the upload box didn't look right (screencap also attached).  Is there something else I should be doing with the texture to make the colors come through right?

I'm also looking for general advice and guides on clothes making and selling.  As I said, I'm currently looking to just use existing artwork as textures.  What should I expect from the SL marketplace, customer preferences, etc.?

(btw my tester image is a recreation of a shirt I have up on Redbubble)

sltemplatetest.png

sltemplatetestpreview.png

Edited by MegaRose

9 answers to this question

That's not bad for a first try.  I started that way myself in 2007, and I suspect a lot of others did too.  It's a simple way to apply a texture to the upper body of a classic avatar.  If you want to work with that for a while, I suggest a couple of things:

1. Texture more of the shirt, not just the decal artwork that you drop on the front.  Right now, you have left all of the background a single matte color and have not tried texturing folds, shadows, etc. or played with the alpha channel to adjust the sleeves and neckline.  You'll find plenty of tutorials on line (Google "Make a T shirt in Second Life),

2. Use the Local Textures option to see what your textures will look like in world, instead of paying L$10 a shot for uploads.