FIXED Issues with Texture Change HUD

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2513 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello :)

I am new to LSL so I'm not sure where I am going wrong. I'm trying to create a colour change hud for an outfit I've recently created. I have written two scripts, one that is in the object I want to change and another which is the button to change the texture. In the hud you can change the colour of 3 separate components of the outfit, top, skirt and boots. 

Here is an example of the script inside the object:

integer ch=46879421563;

{
     state_entry()
    {
       llListen(ch,"",NULL_KEY,"");
    }

listen(integer channel, string name, key id, string msg)
   {
       if (llGetOwner() == llGetOwnerKey(id))
       {
           llSetTexture(llGetSubString(msg,0,-1),ALL_SIDES);
        }
    }
}

and the one in the button 

integer ch=46879421563;

{
     touch_start(integer total_number)
    {
       llSay(ch,"6de65ebe-5fef-7f52-dd05-da49df98833c");
    }

}

Each separate item has their own unique number in the integer "ch" but for some reason, some of the buttons end up changing more than just the object with the same channel. 

any help would be appreciated

Edited by buubbleguum Emerald
problem resovled

You do not have a handle to the listening. Try to add this:

integer nHandle;

in your state_entry()

nHandle = llListen(ch, "", NULL_KEY, "");

Now listening is a resource and should be limited in its use, so having different buttons with their own unique channel is a little overkill, I would advice against. Instead use the message you send from the button to tell the outfit, what should be changed, for example: 1 = top 2 = skirt 3 = boots

llSay( ch, "1,6de65ebe-5fef-7f52-dd05-da49df98833c");

Now your clothing should be something like this:

integer ch=46879421563;
integer nHandle;
integer FACE= ALL_SIDES;

{
     state_entry()
    {