GeForce Share for recording machinima

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2501 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Have any SL machinima makers used Nvidia's GeForce Share feature (formerly Shadowplay) for recording? Share is designed to record high-motion gameplay at 4K with minimal impact on fps.

Add-on software like Fraps, Movavi, Screenflick etc. can produce seriously jerky recording at resolutions above 1080. Better recording utilities could bolster SL's viability as an animation/movie platform. 

Please share any experiences with GeForce Share - thanks!

I turned off all the GeForce add ins as they were hampering other parts of my system so cannot report on that. 

I can say that I have been using Fraps for  seven years with no issues typically recording (from way back then even) at 1600. Of course one needs to have decent fps rates on the SIMS before recording no matter what screen capture software you use.

I will say that while Flashback Express is great for recording tutorials from software programs (Blender for me) it will NOT do a good job inworld as its top recording speed is 10fps. So very limited on what it can record smoothly. 

Happy that Share is working well for you though and hopefully for others.

30 minutes ago, Chic Aeon said:

I turned off all the GeForce add ins as they were hampering other parts of my system so cannot report on that. 

I can say that I have been using Fraps for  seven years with no issues typically recording (from way back then even) at 1600. Of course one needs to have decent fps rates on the SIMS before recording no matter what screen capture software you use.

I will say that while Flashback Express is great for recording tutorials from software programs (Blender for me) it will NOT do a good job inworld as its top recording speed is 10fps. So very limited on what it can record smoothly.