Jump to content

Question

On 5/16 I was on my parcel fixing up my land. I had a folder open I called "home stuff" to work from. That folder contained several thousand items collected over the years to include houses, gacha items gardening items, furniture etc...  A message box popped up in the middle of my screen (it was NOT a message box one typically gets from person to person conversation). It was a grey box that appeared to be from Lindens or my viewer (Firestorm). It said something to the effect "your trash folder is overflowing and may be causing lag issues click below to resolve" 2 buttons were in the box, empty trash and wait til later. Thinking this was a new feature (and i was lagging) I clicked empty now. The entire contents of my "home stuff" folder was deleted. I did not go to my trash folder and delete, I clicked the button in themiddle of my screen. Because i was on my own land and it did not look like a message box from an individual I clicked it. Thousands of things i have collected, many of which are irreplaceable are gone. I filed a ticket under griefing and saw it promptly got moved to "inventory issue" section. It is not an inventory rezzing issue someone stole my entire folder full of items. Many creators/sellers do not use caspervend and because these items were purchased months and years ago i am at a total loss. Please can anyone help or give me advice besides the dont click from strangers thing. Thanks in advance

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Not that it helps you now, but the latest viewer update, Second Life Release Viewer version 5.0.5.326444 , includes a fix for that bug so it will not do the same thing to residents in the future.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, Rolig Loon said:

Not that it helps you now, but the latest viewer update, Second Life Release Viewer version 5.0.5.326444 , includes a fix for that bug so it will not do the same thing to residents in the future.

Unfortunately there isn't a fix for this "bug" because as far as I'm aware, no-one has been able to find  the steps needed which cause folders to be silently moved into Trash yet.  Until someone discovers the exact steps to make stuff mysteriously move into Trash, it isn't likely to be fixed either.  It isn't even clear whether it is an actual bug or not yet.

The changes made in that maintenance viewer are to prevent accidental sending of items to trash by user error and forcing you to review what's in your Trash before emptying it.
The details of the changes made are in the Release Notes

Accidental deletion prevention - Trash:

  • Added a new floater to let you sort through your Trash before clearing it. When you empty trash from there, there's a confirmation dialog with item count too.
  • Backspace won’t act as delete on Windows (but will on Mac, because there’s no other delete)
  • Purge trash will tell you how many items you're permanently deleting. (Known issue: if you delete just a folder, the item count is incorrect).
  • You can no longer purge trash from Recent Items tab, because you might think you're deleting just the recent items, but in fact it's everything.

The main problem though is how stuff is silently being sent to trash without the user seemingly deleting it.

@Kimbryn
The message that you saw in the viewer telling you that your trash was overflowing is a viewer feature.  By default you will see that message each time something new is sent to Trash when more then 5000 items are in your Trash folder.

You should keep working with LL on your support ticket.  LL are actively trying to find the cause of items being sent to trash without user intervention.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I appreciate the feedback and advice...I have edited my ticket to LL 4 times now, to include this thread proving others are falling victim to this same thing. My trash bin could not have had more than a few dozen things in it at the time this happened, I usually delete things like other mesh body applications or freebies i know i will never use on a daily basis. I would have thought they could determine where all of this went or how to get it back. Im afraid I have lost irreplaceable things and its heartbreaking. I was unaware how many sellers do not use caspervend or similar redelivery services and instead require transaction histories that can never be recovered. Thank you everyone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, Kimbryn said:

I appreciate the feedback and advice...I have edited my ticket to LL 4 times now, to include this thread proving others are falling victim to this same thing. My trash bin could not have had more than a few dozen things in it at the time this happened, I usually delete things like other mesh body applications or freebies i know i will never use on a daily basis. I would have thought they could determine where all of this went or how to get it back. Im afraid I have lost irreplaceable things and its heartbreaking. I was unaware how many sellers do not use caspervend or similar redelivery services and instead require transaction histories that can never be recovered. Thank you everyone.

Sorry for your loss. My very first one was my "Home and Garden" folder and like yours it was gone. Mine had nothing to do with the overflowing inventory "feature" as it was many years ago and as Whirly said many  have had this happen lately but cannot say WHY. I have added my suspicions  on MY losses (many over many years with some odd details) to several threads, but I have no PROOF -- only logical guesses.  

 

We do survive. I definitely understand it is hard though. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...