Follower Sitter Bummer!

Karlos Zero

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2533 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone,

I am working on a script for a saddle sitter for avatars, and I managed to make the saddle move and turn, but once another avatar sits on it, the turning function stops completely.
Not sure why since I am not an expert scripter, but I am sure I overlooked something. Will paste my script here and let me know your thoughts on the topic.

rotation Turn;
{
    state_entry()
    {
        llSetTimerEvent(0.5);
        llSensorRepeat("", NULL_KEY, AGENT, 5, PI,0.5);
        llSitTarget(<0.0, 0.0, 0.1>, ZERO_ROTATION);
    }

timer()
    {

vector OFFSET = <0,0,2>;
        vector OwnerPos = llList2Vector(llGetObjectDetails(llGetOwner(), [OBJECT_POS]),0) + OFFSET;

llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast(LINK_THIS,[PRIM_POSITION, OwnerPos]);
        llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast(LINK_THIS,[PRIM_ROTATION, Turn]);
    }
    sensor(integer num_detected)
    {
        Turn = llDetectedRot(0); 
    }
}

llDetectecRot(0) in the sensor event will return the nearest avatar. That would be the one sitting on the object I guess.

You could also get the rotation from the owner with llGetObjectDetails. Doing a llVecDist check for the 5 meter range as well could make the sensor obsolete entirely.

1 hour ago, Rolig Loon said:

Your sensor will fail the instant that you are seated.  At that point, you become a link in the seat's linkset, and an object cannot sense itself.

I don't think that this is true actually. In that case Karlos script would have work (at least to some degree), because it would still get another avatar than the one which is nearest, the one sitting on the saddle.

If I understand the purpose of this follower correctly, the saddle is meant to follow one avatar, which is the owner of the saddle as well, and a second avatar is just sitting on the saddle, riding the saddle owners avatar.