learning the different pose/animation systems?

hyacinth3704

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2493 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hi all,

I'm just getting started in learning how to manipulate animations and would like to learn how to add couple poses to furniture. I've been trying to find information on the various engines and systems out there, like avsitter, MLP, MPS and others, but it's hard for me to tell based on their MP descriptions which ones are easiest to use for 'dummies' like me, and it's not easy to compare/contrast the features they offer. Can anyone point me to a website or blog or resource of some kind that considers the different systems out there and does some evaluation and compare/contrast? I think I must be using all the wrong search terms. I have found some info but it's a few years old and I don't know if it's still up to date. Any advice would be helpful! I don't want to pay for something that's way more complicated than I'm ready for or underpay for something I'll outgrow. Thanks!

Edited by hyacinth3704

7 answers to this question

You are somewhat doomed to tediously weeding through the various animation related tools available. The reason is they quickly change/update. So, reviews are mostly out of date. nPose just updated. So, most of its tutorials are out of date. People using nPose are mostly unfamiliar with the update. My point being it will be hard to get info other than, "I like..."

I like nPose because there are simple and advanced ways to use it. It is pose ball free, which reduces the number of prims in a region. Setting the placement of the avatar with nPose is easy. New tutorials are coming out.

I've tried others. I just found nPose better suited me.