Green Background for Pictures

Rumi Shippe

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2580 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello!

I have a question, I'm still learning how to make a better photo edition.

Anyone have experience in removing green background and making "professional" vendors pics in photoshop?

Is it better to take 2 pictures? One in white background and other in green background?

I appreciate any help.

Thank you!

The green screen doesn't have to be green, it can be any color you chose. Pay attention to the color of your clothing, if you have white dress and put the avi in front of the white background, it will be hard to cut it out. If you put white dress in front of the green background it will be really easy to cut out but there is a danger for some of the green color to go over on the dress. If your avatar has blonde hair and you put her in front of the green screen, some of that green color will always be on the hair... I prefer neutral colors and advise you to make few test shots with different colors and see what looks best for you. 

Few more tips: 

• when you want to zoom-in, use Ctrl+0 on your keyboard, Ctrl+9 for reset the camera view (this makes the avatar look natural);
  • always save snapshots as png and set a custom size, keep "constrains proportions" checked, set the size of the snapshot as big as you can. Work on big photos and when you are finished, resize it and save for web and devices;
  • use normal font, one that is easy to read. Avoid comic sans and any cartoonish looking or anything with too much curves;
  • its best to show clothing on an avatar but people put whatever they like;
  • When you setup vendors on SL marketplace, you can put many snapshots there, put as many as you want, from different angles. 
  • Never edit too much of your vendor images, only the technical parts, leave the artistic for profile and other shots. 

• Like 2