Animated poses

Marianne Little

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4757 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I have a question about Qavimator.

I have made some static poses in Qavimator, and that works fine. But animated poses are harder. I made a 20 frames pose of my avatar going from standing up to kneeling. It does not look so bad, it is my first try but here is my problem: I want my avatar to stay on the ground. Every time I preview the animation, she drops to her knees, and stand up again.

I found some YouTube video tutorials, but I am not able to find something about just this problem. I am sure it is possible to freeze the last frame?

When you upload you need to set it to loop and then set the in% to a high number like 99%, maybe 100% in and 100% out...I don't recall. You should be able to see it in the preview. Of course as soon as you stop the animation the avatar will stand up.

Great! I used 100% in and 100% out. She stays nice put on the ground. Problem solved, but then I get a new problem, lol.

Now, if you have time to a new question... Let us say I want to kneel, stay kneeling a while, and rise naturally. Is it possible in the same animation? Because now, I have her drop to her knees, slowly and she kneels as long as I want. But when I stop the animation she "jumps" up. Even if I used "ease out" and set it to 2 and 3 seconds.

I thought I can use 10 frames more, and then animate her standing up. I would have to sttop the animation when she was kneeling, and start it when I want her to rise. Sounds complicated. What do AO makers do? Do they have 2 separate animations, one when she kneels down and one where she stands up, and just switch between them?

Has someone written a large, detailed tutorial about Qavimator? I have tried to google it, but I only find answers to things I already know, not the things I need to learn.