Old user, back after many years, trying to learn how to design again :)

Moire Georgette

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2640 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi! I'm a really old user, stopped playing I think in 2009 or so. I used to be a fashion designer (good old times when everything was made out of prims and textures haha), and now I'm really excited about the possibilities of mesh clothing. But there are so many new things to learn, I hope I don't sound like your mom trying to figure out second life :). Also, I hope this is the right forum, the fashion forum only has ISO posts, it seems...

1) It looks like everything and the kitchen sink is made out of mesh these days. Are Robin Sojourner old templates still useful? Also, were there any changes on the texture resolution for skins and textured clothing? I mean, all my skins and old clothing look a bit blurry. I don't know if it looks so because I am comparing myself to the new avatars with super fancy mesh heads... I've got a newer skin and it looks a tad better than my old ones (and I used to wear good, expensive stuff back in the days).

2) Speaking of that, I am saving up to a mesh head and a body. It looks like a necessity if I am going to design stuff for them, right? (Don't say it isn't, I am trying to justify the expense to myself, I really want those ;))