Sign in to follow this  
Jo Yardley

The 1920s Berlin Project

As others seem to be promoting their sims I thought it would be ok for me to do so as well.

I am a Historical Consultant for movies, tv and museums in RL and am obsessed with history, I just love it.

During my travels in SL I missed realistic, authentic historical roleplay sims, there were a few that looked very nice but generally the sims and the roleplaying was a little too romantic.
Buildings were very pretty and people enjoyed portraying rich ladies and gentlemen.

I missed the narrow streets, the muck in the dark corners, the poor people, etc.

I decided to build my own sim; The 1920s Berlin Project.

The theme is, as the title suggests, 1920s Berlin.
This old city has always had a very interesting and exciting history but in the 1920s, shortly after the horrendous First World War, it entered an era like no other.

The world changed dramatically, progress brought Jazz, flappers, zeppelins, movies, radios, short dresses (shock horror!), more freedom, liberty, etc..
BUT in Berlin all these new things spread like a virus and were enjoyed in more extreme ways then any other country.
Freedom, drug use, prostitution, tolerance, liberation, modern art, it all happened.
Berlin was the place to be!
And no prohibition... ;)

It was a golden age of music, entertainment, art... but also a dangerous and scary time of unrest, frustrations and extreme politics.
Riots in the streets, Communists, Nazi's, Anarchists... poverty, addictions, crime...
People were dancing, but they were dancing on top of a vulcano.

Our 1920s Berlin Project sim is a roleplay sim that tries to recreate a little bit of this vibrant history.
With the limited options SL offers us we have rebuild some of the famous parts of the city center that you can explore as a tourist.