I'm really struggling. I'm new to second life. I need help.

Shavedbabe

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2750 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

So I'm new and I'm trying to figure all this stuff out. I have bought a lot of avatars and clothes and it seems every one I have bought can fit the clothes that I have purchased. I could really use some help on how o fix the problem. Also i bought some attachments for the body and can not seem to get them working. I'm really having a hard time. I keep spending money trying to buy new body's but I think the problem may be me just not knowing how to work this game yet.

6 answers to this question

I would never advise a new SL resident to rush out and buy a lot of clothing and a mess of avatars.  Chances are pretty good that a lot of it will be money down a rat hole.  Linden Lab provides free avatars and outfits in the Library folder of your inventory.  I strongly recommend using them until you know your way around SL and have enough confidence in your basic skills and enough perspective on what's important to own.  In fact, I recommend using a classic avatar, not a mesh one, for the first month or so, simply because the cloud of things that you have to know about fitting clothing to a mesh avatar is overwhelming.

Since you have already started to accumulate clothing and attachment, though, now is a great time to stop and read about how they work.  These Knowledge Base articles will get you started:

https://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Controlling-your-avatar-s-appearance/ta-p/700709

https://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Avatar-Rendering-Complexity/ta-p/2967838

https://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Buying-clothing-that-fits-your-avatar/ta-p/2570096

https://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Saving-your-avatar-s-appearance-with-outfits/ta-p/3029390

• Like 2