Questions about setting up an Icecast/Shoutcast server for streaming live what you sing

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2777 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi. I am a musician, and wish to create a SHOUTCAST or ICECAST server on my PC, in order to stream what I play and sing to the others in an area. I have read on the wiki that a standard DSL connection can handle up to 5 Second Life listeners. A DSL connection has about 3 Mbps. My internet has over 90 Mbps upload speed in my area, and over 40 Mbps to an USA server. Could my connection handle the demands of streaming audio to Second Life, without the need of an intermediary ?

I have watched a tutorial on Youtube on setting up an Icecast server. Setting up a Shoutcast server seems much more complicated than setting up an Icecast server. I also own a Steinberg UR22 mkII interface that has loopback function. Do I need to enable it ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJNyJMcjgy8&index=1&list=PLmh5rmEGCsMpEoMWgUF84qRi_8ZMn59h3

As I have dynamic IP, could the streaming run well for a few hours, without disconnecting ? Also, is this the way to make this work for Second Life, without using the services of others ?

RE: Loopback

Yes, according to the manual for your audio interface, you need to enable it for it to broadcast what you hear on your computer to the internet.

Loopback is a convenient function for broadcasting

over the Internet. It mixes the input audio signals

(such as microphone and guitar) with the audio

signals playing back in the software in the computer

into two channels in the UR22mkII, and sends them

back to the computer.

Read more on Page 7 -