Is Second life still a thing???

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2792 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone! I am pretty new to SL! I have always been an IMVU user.. But I kinda feel like IMVU attracts the younger crowd. So I wanted to give SL a try...But everytime I come on it seems dead... Or people just don't talk? Am I missing something. lol. I would love to spend more time in SL but I don't want to invest to much effort or money into it..If it's just dead. Help please? :)

Hi and welcome to SL!

A couple things you should know up front, SL has never been very good about helping you find people. The search functions are pretty limited, but there are options.

First, open up search and look for groups relating to your interests. Join a couple with large numbers of members and give the group chat a poke. That's often the easiest way to start chatting with people, which leads to discovering where those people hang out.

Second, when looking for places you have both Search and the Destinations Guide. Now, Search results often include some Destination Guide results, but you can find a lot of places just by opening the destinations guide and looking through it. The Destinations Guide is one of your toolbar buttons.

Third, when using Search to look for places, you'll notice it gives you a "Traffic" number. The higher the number, the more people tend to be at that location throughout the day. You can also show the location on your map, the map will tell you how many people are there at that moment.

I hope that helps!

What's your question?

You're posting at secondlife.com asking if Second Life is still a thing and if people talk. It should be conclusive by now that it is a thing and that people talk. Penny gave you some good advice - why are you focussing on the flippant response instead?