Mesh Generator and mesh object at distances? How to

walterwhiteSr

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2846 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I hope there are some Mesh Generator users out there... I love the way MG can reduce 50+ prims to 1 prim, I am just learning though.  I recently purchased MG, and am creating columns for a building my current structure the prefab columns can be seen clearly including their detail which is recessed squares mostly, viewed at a disctance of 64 m or greater, they are mesh.  My columns approx same physical sise but with some finer details , break down and distort at about 10 meters.   

I am using FS with ultra I have 2gig fast dedicated video card..  How do i get the settings to make viewing at longer distance so the MG created mesh object doesn't distort and become a pixel mess at distance?

I just tested and the LOD setting in FS at Ultra is 3. You can bump the LOD to 4 by moving the slider in the graphics settings in Preferences.

THAT however isn't your real problem. It is important to note that the default LOD settings for most viewers are 2 (FS) down to 1.25 and even 1.  That means that most everyone will see your build broken up and 10 meters is a VERY SHORT distance to have that happen. If you are working on a building you will likely want it viewable at about half a sim distance or 128 meters. To do this you have to import differently, not just let the uploader use the defaults.

That being said it is likely that your mesh is less than optimum for building use (at least it certainily seems that way -- a screenshot of the mesh in your program is always good when asking questions). It is very likely that your fine detail is simply TOO fine and not practical for game use.