Particle problem

XxZeroxX Avedon

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2958 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all, im having issues with a preset particle system ...im not scripter, i have basic knowledge about it but, im more in desing than scripting...so here is the problem:

Im making a particle system, and particles have a texture, but the problem comes with it cuz, the texture just rotate with the camera, i mean, if i move the camera angle, the texture is all the time looking at camera, like most ppl do with grass fx, but i dont want that effect in this script, so what parameter do that? and how can i delet it, i want particles look at the direction i move for example, ty

standard particles are 2D objects (sprites) not 3D, so they always render flat on the screen

is kinda possible to get standard particles to look like they are pointing in a direction, by drawing textures in a paint program to simulate depth and orientation

other alternative is to use ribbon particles which are 3D objects. Look into PSYS_PART_RIBBON_MASK on the wiki here: http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/LlParticleSystem

• Like 2

Ohhh didnt knew it, i used particles before in 3d external editors for render purpose, but particles in editors works in diferent way than games particles like i see now....well i understand what you said about the ribbon, but, what if I use the same particle system but instead of drop a particle, it drops a cube, as a particle, is it posible? or I have to change the whole script? anyways ill keep trying with ribbon now, thanks for the feedback

XxZeroxX Avedon wrote:

but, what if I use the same particle system but instead of drop a particle, it drops a cube, as a particle, is it posible?

No. A particle script can only emit two dimensional particles, not three dimensional objects. You can use a rezzer to rez temporary objects but that's a completely different script.

XxZeroxX Avedon wrote: