Signing out of second life

Fennet

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4771 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

It would be fun or scary to think that, once you logoff, your avatar stays wherever you left her/him.  If that were the case, we would see a bunch of avatars just...hanging around.  But, we don't.  So, that fact should have answered your question.  :smileyhappy:

Venus Petrov wrote:

It would be fun or scary to think that, once you logoff, your avatar stays wherever you left her/him.  If that were the case, we would see a bunch of avatars just...hanging around.  But, we don't.  So, that fact should have answered your question.  :smileyhappy:

Actually, when I was a newbie...I thought they stayed! It was in that time when you had all those places with lots of campingchairs, and most of the time ppl sat there with their heads hanging down. My first weeks I thought those were abandoned avatars....Heh.

(reason I used to logoff in some empty/private-like place..hahahha)

... And over here kids, pay close attention now ... we have the 'Hall of Abandoned Avatars'. These are Avatars that some poor forgetful souls left standing around when they logged out and then they just never came back. It's a heart-breaking job sometimes, collecting all the lost abandoned Avatars. But fortunately for us, we have a dedicated crew of collectors that tirelessly plod the Grid, looking for those telltale vacant eyes, the limp backs and heads pointed toward the ground .. and the characteristic moss growing under their armpits.

That's right kids .. be brave .. look right at them .. and remember this .. "There but for the grace of broadband, go I."