The Measure of Insanity - In World Search

Darrius Gothly

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4750 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Okay, I've complained a lot about In-World Search. I've even complained about it when the OP was actually asking about Search on the Marketplace. But this result just absolutely flabbergasts me. With no changes in the parcel itself, how exactly are we to explain changes in ranking like this:

(search phrase) Page: 12, Slot:13; Rank=233    Was Page: 20, Slot:17; Rank=397  [+164]
(search phrase) Page: 11, Slot:3; Rank=203    Was Page: 4, Slot:18; Rank=78  [-125]

I mean, I could understand a few ranks, or even a page maybe .. but more than 100 slots change?

Between the years when Google launched and when I stopped doing seo for a living (about 10 years), Google did algo updates many many times, but two of them were BIG - the "Florida" update and the "Big Daddy" update. Both of them caused huge changes in the rankings. Two in about 10 years isn't many. But major changes to the inworld search are fast and furious - too many too quickly. With web engines, we can take time to figure out what changed, and to recover, but not so with the inworld search. By the time you're getting a handle on what changed with one major update, another major change comes along to scupper the efforts you put in trying to recover from the previous one. The change just before Christmas was the last one for me. When it happened, I lost all interest in the SL search, and my rankings, and I still have no interest in it.

Medhue Simoni wrote:

It's pure craziness, Darius!

On monday, I made it into the results for the word Animation. Yeah, I did, really, for a whole hour. I was like #8 too, on the first page, for 1 whooooooole hour. Did bring back some good memories, lol.