Grid snapping being broken the last several releases.

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2934 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been building in Second Life since 2007.  I have been using the build tools and the grid since viewer 1.

In the last several releases of the LL and Firestorm viewers, the grid snapping functionality has changed.  In all previous versions you had consistent snapping, no matter the camera distance.  In the new versions of the viewer, grid snapping will jump several snapping points based on camera distance from the object.  Where this becomes a problem is when you are working with normal sized prims and you have to zoom out to see your prims.  Once zoomed out, you can't get a good snap because the grid keeps jumping past where you want to snap.  Enabling sub units doesn't fix the problem, because you have to be close enough to see sub units for snapping.

And so, functionality that has been the very basis of prim alignment, is broken.  There have been several JIRA's reporting this problem.  It has been fixed once, only to be reintroduced again in a subsequent release.  My guess is LL wants this new functionality to stay, which is sad, because it breaks the grid--a core feature for being creative in Second Life.

Today Firestorm announced blocking of 4.6.9, the last version of Firestorm to still have the old grid functionality.  I have a JIRA open with Firestorm and am hoping they add in a fix.  In the meantime, I'm not able to use either LL or Firestorm to build effectively.

I just want to say I think it's sad that something so fundamental and important to building in Second Life can be changed in such a way to negate its usefulness.  It's hard enough to learn how to use the grid for some, now it'll be even more frustrating to newcomers who want to use the grid but can't get a good snap.