Question about permission request when other avi click on item on my avi

dk201

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2968 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi Everyone, I am new to LSL and here is my question:

I want to scripted an item attached to my avi all the time. This item needs to do 2 things:

1) Detect my avi's animation/move change. For example when avi is flying, this item need to know that. Except a while loop keeping check my avi's animation, is there a better implementation by using event or other machnisms?

2) When this item is clicked by other avis, I want to receive a request window ask me if I allow to run a function. Since this item is attached to my avi, and the click action is triggered by me, I cannot find a good way to have this done. Is there any built-in function allow me to make this happen?

Thanks in advance,

Thanks for quick reply. I dont want to hire someone to do this for me. I would like to do scripting myself if anyone can just give me a quick answer if there is a built-in function that I missed.

The quick answer to your first question is that the LSL function, llGetAgentInfo can tell you what the current state of your av is.  You'll have to run that in a reasonably fast timer to have continuous polling.  That's how AOs work, BTW.

The second operation you're asking about isn't clear to me.   You want someone else to be able to click on one of your attachments to do something.  That's easy enough.  I'm not sure what you mean by "the click action is triggered by me", though, so I can't really give you useful advice.

To first question: Is timer a better option than a while loop? I implemented animation detection in a while loop, but wonder if timer is a better way to run scripts.