Jump to content

If my account is on hold, do I still get e-mail notifications, and how do I completely delete my acc


You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1825 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Recommended Posts

BAsically self explinatory as well, can I still get e-mail notifications from IM's if I had "Email me IM's when im offline" when I deleted my account / had it on hold?

I'm asking this cause a friend has had his account on hold for like 18 months and he has noticed his account still hasnt been completely deleted since I told him I still have his calling card and can IM him.

But dunno if I IM him if he'll get the Email notification that I had IMed him.

Lastly, is there a complete way too 100% completely delete an account? Rather than pick "delete account" because thats what my friend did, he chose "delete account" and it put his account on hold instead.

Link to post
Share on other sites


Wedger wrote:

BAsically self explinatory as well, can I still get e-mail notifications from IM's if I had "Email me IM's when im offline" when I deleted my account / had it on hold?

I'm asking this cause a friend has had his account on hold for like 18 months and he has noticed his account still hasnt been completely deleted since I told him I still have his calling card and can IM him.

But dunno if I IM him if he'll get the Email notification that I had IMed him.

Lastly, is there a complete way too 100% completely delete an account? Rather than pick "delete account" because thats what my friend did, he chose "delete account" and it put his account on hold instead.

While I suppose it is possible(it is LL after all) I have never seen anyone delete their account and have it put on hold instead, ever, in the last 12 years. A hold is something initiated by LL, not the account holder. More often than not, it is either due to someone breaking the TOS, someone is involved in some money issue(ie, receiving potentially fraudulent funds), or someone owes LL money(ie, not paying tier). 

 If your friend deleted his account, he will not get your messages. If his account is on hold, he probably will. If he *knows* his account is on hold, then it is more likely that he didn't delete it, and he's lying to you about that bit. Perhaps he doesn't want you to know LL actually put his account on hold. Who knows, I suppose that bit isn't really all that important. 

When someone deletes their account, it does not remove their calling card from your inventory. In fact, it doesn't remove them from your friend/contact list, either, you or they have to do that part. I have a few friends who have deleted their accounts over the years, that are still on my list. In fact, one friend's account was only recently deleted(since she passed away her family deleted it) and I can still pull up her profile from my list and her calling card still exists in my inventory, you just won't find her account(or any actually deleted account) in search. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

You can not delete an account on hold, LL have invoked a suspention pending an investigation or if your a premium account holder then untill the monies payed are used. Tho i have a suspitions as to why. In answer to the email by IM, no, Why would LL keep relaying to a non account holder? TYPO

Link to post
Share on other sites

It sounds like you and/or your friend is not certain whether the account is deleted or is 'on hold'.  As others have mentioned, the existence of the calling card along with the inworld menu option to send an IM does not mean that the account still exists, or that an IM, if attempted, would go anywhere.   Have you tried IM'ing your friend to see what actually happens when you try that? 

If you want to delete your account, then simply use the 'delete account' option (after releasing any lands if you are a premium member).  If you are premium, the account remains active until the end of the current premium subscription period, and then it is deleted.   After completing the deletion process, simply walk away and don't worry about it. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

When  you delete an account, it does go on hold for 1 month so you have the chance to change your mind. Many rage quit and then decide to come back after they calm down and this eliminates LL having to reactivate it. Your account will then say deleted, you can't look it up inworld, calling card doesn't go away. You may get some emails from LL asking you back. No account is totally deleted because of the possibility of content creation by that account. If it was totally deleted, that content would disappear from the grid. You can also, often, reactivate the account by contacting LL.

Link to post
Share on other sites
You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1825 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...