Ebbe Interview on Sansar, and my commentary

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3018 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Of course, I have no other knowledge about Sansar than anyone else. That said, the talk about a Maya plugin, scares the crap out of me. Why? I'm asking the same thing. What is the point of a Maya plugin? To import the whole scene? What? What for? Again, what is the point? I've never seen a game engine where you built the scene in a 3D package. I don't even understand why you would want to. And, if you want to just build it all in Maya, and use only Maya features, then is LL simply building a Maya viewer? I'm thoroughly perplexed.

Again, I have to talk about my concerns about the Maya centric direction they are taking. This has been done before, with not very good results. Actually, it's been done twice. The first was Blue Mars, using the famed CryEngine. Blue Mars was more 3Ds Max focused, and that is what I started out using. Blue Mars had to make all the programs to convert all the content over and usable in Blue Mars. The problems were many. Despite trying desparately, I only managed to get a few things working before it all closed. There just wasn't enough of us that were able to get anything to work. Not because we were incompetent, but the compatibility of the software, and the different versions of the software. So, low creator group to begin with, and only a small fraction of them could even get anything to work, despite the many different converters Blue Mars created. Then add on that only someone with a really good pc could handle those environments that the CryEngine was famed for, at the time.