Opinions on my new work?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4772 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a music producer and I'm looking to get my name out in SL. If you own a venue or are a DJ or producer and would like to hook up with me in any way, let me know! An in-game IM would be the quickest way to contact me.

This is my newest song, Turmoil. It's still a work in progress.

Turmoil

And another, in the same style. Also still a work in progress. Updated 04/01/2011

Imagine

I did this for a game I play called EVE Online.

Warp Drive Active

I appreciate any comments and opinions. You can check out my other music here.

Perhaps you will get some interest with your post.  Have you gone to some of the SL clubs where electronic music is played?  Such places as:

The 8th Element

SLeek

Woods

Deep Space Transmissions

SOL House Music

The Edge (at Inspire Space)

United Beats - Code 415

Listen to the DJs that play and strike up a conversation.  Good luck!

Hmmm... something about the reverb seems to obliterate the separation between the component parts of the sound into an overall 'soupiness'. I say reverb, but I could well be wrong there. You have a choppy comping sound in at the intro which seems to continue throughout the piece yet loses all definition once the main melody kicks in. You've got the makings of a very interesting piece there. Keep at it.

Warp Drive and New Eden seem to be better defined tracks. Possibly because the drums [esp. Kikck] are well separated out. I tend to keep lower register sounds fairly dry unless there's *alot* of space around them. I've found it helps with defining a piece of music even for someone such as myself who habitually mixes drums and percussion low in the mix.