CPU usage

Casanovarose96

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3058 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hiya newbie here,

So I started playing this game about 5-6 days ago, and I LOVE it. However I noticed that when I play on my Veiwer, it seems to use alot of my CPU and my fan starts working hard to keep my laptop cool, making it sound like a have a tiny jet fighter in my bedroom. This is probelm also continues after I have closed the window but the noise and CPU usage would decrease. The problem only goes away when I turn my laptop on and off again, but to do that every time would be such a mssive hassle, I was wondering what I could do to end any background processess that remain after quiting the 2Nd life viewer.

Thanks for your help guys,

Casanovarose96 (AmazonIndia)

'Cause you're using a laptop. Is physics.

Heavy workload, lots of rendering and fast-moving data are all highly intensive electrical operations. They will generate a lot of heat, and when you're using a small device with very little cooling ability and small/inadequate fans, this will end poorly. All that heat has to go somewhere, so it will heat the internals of your device. This results in shorter lifetime for components, more failures, often a reduced lifetime of the device as a whole.

When the laptop is off, its internal temperature can reduce to the ambient levels in your room. This is better for it (cooler is always better), but if our laptop isn't allowed to cool down before being powered back up then you're risking decreasing longevity further.