A request for solutions to the resident names problem

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4557 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I think it fair to say that the Display Names project was something of a failure.

As Ishtar pointed out, the new intake of residents suffer from a dearth of coherent names because they are limited to one name instead of two (forename and surname) and because existing residents gobbled up most of the coherent names to protect their identity and brand. New residents are left with little choice but to scramble for the crumbs of Wendy723 or, in frustration, to whack at any combination of letters and numbers that might still work. The result - predictably - is names like jetghievui Resident or Samgfgfgfg12.

Why this wasn't considered before implementation is a mystery, but the problem is here now and wants to be fixed. The question is how best to fix it. Since I am not an engineer, I will offer a conceptual approach.

The core of the problem is having only one name (one text ID). That means new residents must cram into one single name space. Imagine if the internet were to eliminate all suffixes except dot com. Everyone would have to cram into the dot com space, which is already filled. That's why new suffixes are being added all the time.

Linden Lab's databases can handle two text IDs at the moment (which makes going to one even stranger), so why not three or four? I do not know enough about the technology side, but can't Linden Lab, for example, add an extra 'field' to the name ID?

The old system was actually quite clever by providing a dropdown list of surnames. It seems odd to now give all new residents the surname ‘Resident’. Why not create a middle name field instead with a selection of dropdown choices? Alternatively, let residents choose all three names?