Script for rotating Cube?

EniMausi

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 95 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I accidantly post this tread in the wrong forum i guess...haven't saw the script section. My bad :(

I found that OmegaTarget script, but it does not work a I want to. The final result should look like this:

http://www.shutterstock.com/video/clip-2933809-stock-footage-abstract-rotating-cube-loop-able-d-anim...

If I turn the cube the rotation axes goes with the object and doesn't stay an the z-axis to earth. Its for a logo in front of a building. The cube should spin on a corner and not an the flat side.... but I just can't get it to work with the omega script. Beside I am a totally noob on scripting. Hope somebody can help.

and sry for my bad english

You have to do a trick here. Prims rotate around their centre, at least with Omega they do. But you want it to rotate on a corner. So you have to cut the prim so that the centre looks like it is a corner. Rez a prim and on the Object tab in Edit set the rotation to x=45 y=0 z=45

Now set Path Cut to B 0.375 E 0.625 and Slice B to 0.5

Now your Omega will work.

{
state_entry()
{
// x y z speed acceleration
llTargetOmega(<0,0,1>,1.0,0.001);
}

}

• Like 1

I would simply tell the script to  position the cube as I wanted it, and then rotate it on the region's z axis rather than that of the cube.

Thus:

default{    state_entry()    {        rotation rot = llRotBetween(<1.0,1.0,1.0>,<0.0,0.0,1.0>); //find the angle between the cube's centre and the vertical up        llSetRot(rot); //rotate it to that angle               float speed = (TWO_PI/4.0); // one rotation every 4 seconds       llTargetOmega( <0.0,0.0,1.0>, speed,0.1);           }}

ETA  I think this is the same as Ron's solution, but mine is a bit more verbose and explicit about the steps involved.

• Like 2