Maya 2011 and sculptmap exporter script

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4014 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all.

I started using Maya recently and actually I'm having a problems saving my sculpt with the exporter script found in the wiki.

Actually my problem is a common one  "// Error: Object list must contain a surface and a texture".

I get this error if I select the object using the button "select by hierarchy and combinations", that is the only one that allows me to select the whole object. If I use instead "select by object type" it will select only one face of the object and selecting them all at once I will get to export 1 sculpt map for each face (Top,Front,Back....).

I'm new to Maya and I'm still learning how to use it properly. I started creating a NURBS cube 32x31 (U patches: 32 and V patches: 31) .

I just can't get to export the object as one sculptmap only.

I used the script with an imported OBJ made in Zbrush and it works, but it doesn't works with the primitive created in Maya 2011...

Anyone can help? What is that I do wrong?

Thank you

A nurbs cube consists of 6 patches. You will want to start with a sphere, torus, plane or cylinder (deleting the endcaps).

edit: To clarify a little....the nurbs cube really is 6 planes that are loosely alligned to look like a cube but it is still 6 individual objects. Thats why you are getting 6 maps as output. Alternatively to the default primitives you can create sculpties using curves with the extrude or loft commands.

Oromis Dragovar wrote:

Hello all.

I started using Maya recently and actually I'm having a problems...