Friends List Query : 'Diplomatic deletion'

Kitty Otoole

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4798 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Like most people in Sl I went through a phase of accepting friend requests and sending them out to all and sundry when I was a newb..now I realise my friends list is just beyond control!

I've been in game ages and it's time that I reeled it in somewhat, but the problem is people know whn you have deleted them don't they? Is there any way you can do this without the avatar concerned being aware? I'm not asking this to be shady; rather than cause offence to people!

I know it sounds an odd query but is there a way to do it at all? If there isn't I'll just leave it, it's good for the ego after all (!) BUT it's disturbing me that I have no idea who the majority of the people are! I know I'm getting old but surely my memory ain't THAT bad?

=^..^=

18 answers to this question

You can either delete the name - defriend.  Or you can contact the individuals and tell them you are deleting the name.  Either way works - whatever you are comfortable with.

I delete.  If they really want to continue a relationship of any sort they will get back in touch with you.

There is no way to do it where they would not know.

If you don't remember or interact with some of the people on your list then it is likely they won't remember you either and therefore won't be offended if they see the notification. In fact they may be just as relieved to see there friends list shrink too.

If you delete someone and they get offended by it even though you only have spoken to them once or twice 4 months ago I wuldn't worry too much about it. If they cared they would be speaking to you on a more regular basis, wouldn't they?

• Like 1