Tos Help please

Winter Starlight

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3359 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm no lawyer, so take what I say with a grain of salt.  Licenses apply to Real Life legal entities, not SL accounts or avatars,  For the sake of discussion, let's assume that you have an enforceable contract with the buyer.  In that case you do, indeed, have recourse if he violates it---you can file suit in a RL court.  Is that really practical?  Can you prove enough damage to make it worth the trouble and expense?

In addition, how are you going to learn about a transfer in violation of your license, let alone prove it?  How many people would be willing to testify or to give a deposition to help you in your lawsuit? 

So, even though you might theoretically have recourse, it seems to me that it is likely of no practical value.

One problem with a lot of the restrictive licenses that I have seen in SL is that they are included in a box with the items to which they pertain, and they buyer is not notified of the terms before the purchase, making them completely invalid.  You have to put people on notice before they pay and to be able to prove you did that for the license to be enforceable.

Amethyst Jetaime wrote:

You have to tell them your TOS before they purchase and its a good idea to put in the folder or box you wil be selling.  If they violate your TOS you can file a DMCA against anyone that violates it.