Password Strength and Security

Vulpinus

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1773 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I noticed some questionable advice in another thread, and thought I should say something on the matter without derailing that thread.

Amongst other things, I've been a security consultant in the IT industry, for what saying that is worth.

Note that the following largely refers to our use of online passwords. While the facts are no different for your work login, that's more difficult to deal with.

Firstly, unless things have changed recently, the passwords we can generate to log in to SL are not as flexible as our website account passwords are allowed to be, stupidly. I bet I'm not the only one to create a password on the account page, then not be able to log in to SL because the password contains characters that aren't allowed in the actual SL login. I've done it twice, lol.

If I recall correctly, the SL password only allows up to 16 characters of alphanumeric only. No symbols. That's a bit poor really (one of my banks is actually worse though!), but see further for why it doesn't really matter. ETA: I'm wrong, symbols are allowed, but not spaces.

Password crackers these days are nothing like they used to be. By using statistical analysis on compromised and known password hash databases, tools have been developed that are very good at guessing the sort of passwords we all use. They are good enough to be able to crack 75% or so of an entire password database within a day.

Why? Because we are predictable, and follow patterns picked up from (and told to use by) other people. Humans can be predicted, even more so when they are trying to be unpredictable.

Think putting a few random characters in your password makes it safer? Nope. Odd capitalization or number/symbol replacement of letter? Useless.