Detect Alternate Avatar

Aubley Vaniva

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1906 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

23 answers to this question

I suspect that 90% of of residents have one or more alts. Using multiple accounts is very common, even all the Lindens have them lol

There are gadgets that claim to be able to detect multiple accounts but they are incredibly inaccurate. They will pick up alts that are not alts and miss ones that are.

My advice would be, assume everyone has alts & don`t fret over it, some people like to have a 3rd life and a 4th life etc

As a business owner I have always had an alt. I login as her when I need to work or meet with someone without interruption.  Maybe it seems unfriendly, but I find it very hard to deal with multiple conversations at the same time. It also is hard to script or build with IM's popping up, even when I have busy set... And so I have an alt. I don't think there should be a way to tell if a person has an alt, people should be allowed some privacy when they want it.

I've always understood, though, that who I am chatting with in SL may not be who they say they are... including whether they have other alts that might talk to me at some other time without letting me know who they are. It's just the way it always has been on the Internet. OK, well some people may be geeky enough to know how to trace IP's and such, but most of us aren't and just have to realize we never know if we are talking to our RL neighbor, an ex-spouse, a president, a movie star, an axe murderer, or one of our own children. So it pays to be careful, and truthful. You are only responsible for your side of the street, after all.

I think if someone seems fishy to you should trust your instincts & try to avoid them.

• Like 2

I totally agree with Dark & Honey, I also use an alt for my business to crash test new products/perms etc. I think most creators do.