Scanning

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3482 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm new to sl and recently was talking with a person in secondlife. I've been warned about alot of scams and hackers and such in the game. This person told me that they could scan people and find out everything they were wearing so when i told them not to scan me they did it anyway. now i have also been warned about copybot only know a little about it. they told me they were not using that but it was an old school thing you could do.

my question is simple were they being truthful is this an old school trick or was I in danger. I guess i am thinking too much about it but it sort of startled me because they became very angry when i teleported away from them.

You're correct that scams and other exploit-based attacks are high in Second Life. You're right to be wary. :)

Scanning... could mean anything in the context you're using it in. There's llSensor, which is an LSL (script) function that's totally harmless. There's also proprietary scanning systems - devices that ping other compatible devices, which are also (typically) harmless.

I don't see how someone obtaining a list of the items you're wearing would be damaging, even if it were easily possible - all it would give them is the attachments name and other 'metadata' about the object. It also wouldn't be able to give information on system clothing. My understanding is that it's not a standard feature of a Second Life viewer, though third-party viewers may include a feature like this.

Copybot is only a risk to the items you're wearing, it's not possible to steal any personal information using it. Intellectual Property theft now has to be dealt with by the creator of any exploited objects - it's not your responsibility to resolve and it's not your loss if it occurs, (unless the Copybotted items were ones you made yourself).