Topics to cover - comments?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3395 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone!

I am a high school teacher in North Carolina and I have the opportunity to teach a course being called Electronic Arts. In it I plan to cover all the different aspects of Second Life/OpenSim. I have 18 weeks divided into two 9 week periods. I will be seeing the kids for 90 minutes daily. I plan to spend one week per topic, with a culminating project at the end of each week and at the end of the 9 week period. I am sure I can't cover every last aspect, nor every aspect in full detail, but I wanted to give them a strong foundation on many basics. Comments and opinions welcomed.

So the first 9 weeks I was thinking this;

Week 1 - Intro to Virtual Worlds, Walking around , Inventory, changing your avatar, etc - the basics  Project: Customize avatar and show off

Week 2 - Intro to Gimp - making clothing from templates  Project: Make a custom outfit

Week 3 - More Gimp - Making your own skin from templates  Project: Make your own custom skin

Week 4 - Qavimator - Introduction to poses and basic animations  Project: Strike a pose

Week 5 - Qavimator - Facial expressions and advanced animations - Project: Charades

Week 6 - Introduction to Building in World - the basics  Project; Unique furniture with Textures

Week 7 - Building Accessories - Prim Hair  Project; Change your 'do

Week 8 - Building accessories - Attachments:  Jewelry, purses, shoes and other small objects  Project; accesorize.

Week 9 - Culminating activity - run way; Fashion show. Develop walk and 3 unique outfits with accessories to show off.

-----------------------------------

Week 10 - Introduction to Avastar and Mesh  Project: Make a simple mesh object

Week 11 - Shape Project; Make custom non-human avatar shape

Week 12 - Mesh Clothing and Hair Project: Fancy Accessories