Can I open a medical practice in second life?

AstasiaAbasia

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3537 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am a doctor in real life.  I'm imagining people coming to me with their medical problems for consultation.  I have no license to practice medicine in second life because there isn't a regulatory body to issue one.  I'm interested in the ethical and legal problems that would arise.  Of course, it would be irresponsible to start giving people medical advise on line though I do this for complete strangers in real life on a fairly regular basis once they find out I'm a doctor and start asking me questions about this or that ailment.

4 answers to this question

As a physician, you are (or should be) more familiar with the ethical standards of your profession than we are.  Being a doctor involves more than having medical knowledge.  It is a position of trust.  Personally, I cannot imagine sharing my medical concerns with someone who just says that he is a doctor.  Aside from the privacy and confidentiality issues, I would worry about the reliability of the medical advice I was receiving. You are quite right that "Of course, it would be irresponsible to start giving people medical advise on line." There are many places in SL (like Health Info Island) where you can go to find generic medical information or to learn about public health issues, but that's quite different from going to a virtual office for specific medical advice about your own concerns.  At the very least, talk this over with your own medical colleagues and see what the AMA may have to say about the idea.

• Like 2

After you talk to associates, talk to an attorney. SL is governed by RL law. Your country's laws extend into SL plus international laws extend into SL.

What is your liability in India or China? Do they see you are a rich American or European that may be an excellent law suit target?