Bought Land + Skybox and Lost Skybox

Chriss Ranica

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 5173 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hi everyone..

I'm new to buying land and all that. I bought this Land + skybox and I tp'd out of the skybox before I set a landmark to it. Now when I tp to my property it takes me to an empty lot that I own and not the skybox. I have a bunch of objects in the skybox so I'm guessing I can track it that way? I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm not really sure how exactly to work this in the search boxes.

thanks!!

5 answers to this question

More than likely the skybox is high up in the air...

Fly up over your parcel until you find it, the top of the viewer shows the parcel name you are in, (that will make it easier to be sure it's your skybox on your land).

If it's higher than 300m you will need some sort of flight assist, Flight Feather is free and works well.

It's somewhere between ground level and 4000m in the air.

Turn up your draw distance enough if need be, so that all of your land is within rez range, place your back toward one of the parcel boundaries so you're looking inward, and start flying straight up until you spot it. (note the flight feather advice above).

Or if you're lazy like me, rez a cube at ground level, sit on it and while in edit mode, set it's Z position to 4000m. Instant elevator! Then stand up (flying), delete the cube, and freefall while looking around on the way down. On a small parcel you might even land on the same skybox you're looking for.

It's really not as complicated as I just made it sound.

• Like 1

One very fast way to find it.

At ground, rez a single prim and sit on it.

Edit the z-value of the prim to 4096. That's the maximum height.

You will be carried up there with your prim. You might have to hit the escape key to get your camera to go up there too...