Help Can't enable physics for object with physics resource cost greater than 32

WanderleiMMA

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2122 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am a noob builder just made a japanese sliding door and added a script.  Im not sure what they mean by this I guess I made the door out of too many peices or something.  I was just wondering if anyone could explain to a noob what this means.

Innula it was a script I copied from second life wikipedia.  And thank you for your help.  I'm havent even learned how to script.  This is it if you would like to see.  http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Smooth_Sliding_Door

• Thanks 1

5 answers to this question

It means what it says.   You can't have a physics-enabled object with a physics cost of more than 32.   This used to mean 32 prims, but now it's a more complicated calculation. 

Under normal circumstances, you would cut down on the physics cost first by making sure all components of the build are set to convex hull rather than prim (use the features tab of the editor and edit linked parts).   If that doesn't work I'd advise setting some child prims to physics type none, which takes them out of the physics accounting altogether, though at the cost of, in effect, making them phantom.

However, in this specific case, I cannot for the life of me see why a sliding door needs to be set to physics enabled.   Physics enabled means not that the object is solid (not phantom) but that SL's equivalents of the laws of physics apply to it -- it's affected by gravity and the laws of mechanics.   Vehicles need to be physics enabled, but doors certainly don't.