in need of help with mesh avi

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3656 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

i am completely new to makeing anything with mesh.I have blender and i am looking for a way to make a static mesh be a good avi.But also i dont know how and if its ok to take a mesh from a good game and have it as a avatar.I did some quick mesh avis and they came out very pixelated and with out a head and some parts missing.

First of all, yes it is "illegal" to make an avatar after a character in a game. If you took the MESH upload test, you should know that :D.

Second, making an avatar is one of the most difficult things to do (assuming it isn't just a block character painter blue or whatever). First you need to know how to build something simple like a chair, map it, upload (guess you go that).

So BACK UP a bit and go a little slower :D. There are lots of folks here willing to help you but asking how to drive a porche when you can't roller skate is not the best way to go about things - LOL.

We all had to learn the basics. THEN you can move forward.

Forget using games to make your SL character, the new tos is really tight also about naming your product. For istance if I make a red bike that looks like a ducati I can't call it ducati or ferrari.Same is for Game characters you couldn't make a 3d character like a disney game and pretend to sell it in world like that ( this has real referals to a case that has happened and the store was closed cause of this).

making 3d character would probably be the only  thing you could choose to save yourself from growing white hair with fitted mesh madness.

What they say about modeling a whole character is true and not , it's relative to the approach you use. For sure you need some basics.