My mind is blown

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3641 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello again my lovely second life frequenters.

Today was my first time in the actual second life world and I was trying to find a place to go. I posted before about places to go and frequent to talk to people, but I am a novice and I was trying to get used to everything. However, I noticed something that surprised me.

I clicked the tab that said destinations and found a section that said "What's hot now" so i clicked on it, expecting to find plenty of people. Although, to my let down, when I went to these destinations there was basically no one there and if there was a single person they wouldn't speak.

I don't mean to sound harsh, but I am just a bit surprised that people don't really seem interested in speaking.

What's going on with you all?

Have any similar experiences?

What's going on with the "What's hot now?" tab?

Why are these destionations "ice cold?"

help...

• The Destinations listing is maintained by Linden Labs (from users' submitted suggestions, yes, but it's the Lindens who sort through them and decide) which, shall we say, doesn't usually give the impression of being exactly overstaffed.
  • Conversely, many users may fail to bother submitting suggestions to that list at all for that reason; also because the submission process isn't as easy as it perhaps should.
  • Some of the people not speaking in public may be doing so privately, in IMs. Or doing some other things while they wait for any interesting conversation to start -and there's no telling what each user may find interesting enough.
  • Some users may be AFK (“away from keyboard”), and therefore unable to join the conversation at all, even if there's an interesting one going on. And yes, there are tags to be used to indicate you're AFK, but sometimes they're forgotten -or ignored, for that matter.