Does everyone need to fill in the W-9 or W-8BEN when cash out Linden now?

Qoo Oh

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3498 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

First, sorry about my poor English, I had read many about this tax thing but still confusing, please help.

I have some Linden in my account for many years and want to cash out today for some reasons, this is my first time to sell L, lucky that I check here before sell it, some say if get letter from Linden Labs and don't reply in 30 days they will close your account. This is horrible! So I want to make sure before I do the cash out.

I am a non-U.S. residents, all $L in my account is below US$100.

My questions are:
1) Does everyone get ask to fill in the W-9 or W-8BEN when cash out Linden (no matter how much you want to cash out)?
2) All I need to submit are my country's ID information and W-8BEN ?
3) How many tax I need to pay for US gov? (let's say I cash out US$100)
4) Is it safe to sent all this personal information through email?
5) Is there any way that I can ask Linden Lab about that? I can't find where the online support from Linden Lab at the website.
6) If Linden Lab sent email to me, it will be sent after I sell L to US$, or sent when I cash the US$ to paypal?

So confusing, hope someone can help.

You only need to fill in these forms if you cash out 200 or more times in a year, or if the total you cash out in a year is more than US$20,000.  LL will write to you if this is the case and they want you to fill out any forms, but it sounds as if it is not the case, so I do not think you need to worry.

See this post in the Official Commerce Blog for links to more details.

You may, of course, need to report the income to your own tax authorities, but you must seek professional advice in your own country (or ask your tax authorities) about what your obligations are.

Innula Zenovka wrote: