Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Athanasius Porthos

Since I can no longer use Sl do I cancel my Premium Membership.

Question

  • 0

Canceling your premium account

If you're thinking about canceling your account, consider leaving it active with a basic membership, which costs nothing to maintain. If at some point in the future you should choose to revisit Second Life, your avatar and your inventory will be here waiting for you.

You can always update or discontinue your membership plan by going to the Cancel Account page after logging in with your Second Life username and password. This link is also accessible through the Account section on the left of your Dashboard.

Once logged in, find the Cancel Account button at the bottom of the page. Your account will remain open until your billing review date, as account maintenance fees are paid in advance.

32px-KBtip.png Tip: If you want to keep your name for possible future use but don't want to pay the US$9.95 reactivation fee, simply downgrade to a basic account.

You may still be charged for land

If you cancel or downgrade your account from premium, you may still be charged for your current month's land holdings.

As stated on the Land Pricing & Use Fees page:

Land use fees are billed based on the peak amount of land held during your previous 30 day billing cycle. This includes land parcels held and land tiers donated to groups... Peak usage is measured by the maximum amount of land you held — for any length of time — during your billing cycle.

Thus you are always charged for your premium membership and the maximum amount land you owned during the current billing cycle, regardless of whether you cancelled your account before the end of the month.

32px-KBnote.png Note: When you cancel your account, it remains active until the end of your payment period. You may still log in and use Second Life during this time. For instance, if you buy a yearly Second Life membership and cancel it the next day, you are still be treated as a premium member for the next year!
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Canceling your premium account

If you're thinking about canceling your account, consider leaving it active with a basic membership, which costs nothing to maintain. If at some point in the future you should choose to revisit Second Life, your avatar and your inventory will be here waiting for you.

You can always update or discontinue your membership plan by going to the Cancel Account page after logging in with your Second Life username and password. This link is also accessible through the Account section on the left of your Dashboard.

Once logged in, find the Cancel Account button at the bottom of the page. Your account will remain open until your billing review date, as account maintenance fees are paid in advance.

32px-KBtip.png Tip: If you want to keep your name for possible future use but don't want to pay the US$9.95 reactivation fee, simply downgrade to a basic account.

You may still be charged for land

If you cancel or downgrade your account from premium, you may still be charged for your current month's land holdings.

As stated on the Land Pricing & Use Fees page:

Land use fees are billed based on the peak amount of land held during your previous 30 day billing cycle. This includes land parcels held and land tiers donated to groups... Peak usage is measured by the maximum amount of land you held — for any length of time — during your billing cycle.

Thus you are always charged for your premium membership and the maximum amount land you owned during the current billing cycle, regardless of whether you cancelled your account before the end of the month.

32px-KBnote.png Note: When you cancel your account, it remains active until the end of your payment period. You may still log in and use Second Life during this time. For instance, if you buy a yearly Second Life membership and cancel it the next day, you are still be treated as a premium member for the next year!
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

And who should care about this? There is certainly nobody here, reading this, who loses a tear because you cancel your premium membership, which is normal behavior for strangers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Athanasius,

If the only reason you want to cancel is because your computer won't run the SL viewer, I urge you to consider contacting SL Help instead of canceling.  As a Premium member you are entitled to personal help from SL.  They may be able to assist you in getting the viewer to run on your computer.

Here is a link to an explanation of your Premium membership's benefits:  Premium Membership Benefits.  I don't remember the exact steps you will need to take to ask for their help, but this page should help you figure out how to do it.

Respectfully sends,

MorSuljyn :catvery-happy:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If I understand the OP's two previous posts correctly, he is trying to access SL with a computer that does not meet minimum requirements.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thank you. Agreed, this is probably the case, but from this comment, it seems at one time he did have a computer that allowed him access.

 

Another solution might be for him to choose a third-party viewer which uses less resources such as Catznip or Singularity, or more text-oriented ones such as METAbolt or Radegast which, if I understand correctly, can allow inworld interface with limited screen updates. Here is a link to the third-party viewer page for more information: http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Third_Party_Viewer_Directory. Additionally, here is another link on getting support from LL for said third-party viewers: http://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Getting-support-for-Third-Party-Viewers/ta-p/1667117

 

While searching for third-party viewer information I ran across this page on how to contact SL Support: http://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/How-to-contact-customer-support/ta-p/739385

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Of course, I'm just a peon and not any kind of expert, but I do hate to see people leave SL who cared enough about it to spend real money on a Premium membership, little though it might cost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Hmmm...sometimes these community posting venues confuse me... are these comments visible to all or just the two of us? I don't see them when I access the OP's question from his About page; I only see them when I access the question from my About page. (In other words, should I post the above links as an additional answer to his question so others can see them?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I agree. Thank you for posting your helpful note. The OP has been in SL for a little over 4 years and is an experienced resident. I, too, hate to see someone leave after that long. You are right to suggest third-party viewers as an alternative (although note for your own reference that Radegast is text-only and that Metabolt is not currently available).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

LOL! Thank you for the information. I toyed around with them a year or so ago, but decided not to invest more time in them since I got a better handle on Firestorm.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Anyone can see these comments, if s/he thinks to click on the Permalink under your first post. There's nothing to suggest that there is anything to look at, though. In practice, the only people who are aware of Permalink notes are those who have subscribed to the thread by posting in it themselves. It is an arcane system, to say the least.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...