Sign in to follow this  
Bubba Biberman

Mandatory Update for Power PC?

I have been using an old Mac Power PC notebook to log on alts using Viewer 1.23.5 until today when I receive a manditory update on log in for version 3 viewer, which does not support Power PC processors. Is this change permanent?

Bubba Biberman wrote:

I have been using an old Mac Power PC notebook to log on alts using Viewer 1.23.5 until today when I receive a manditory update on log in for version 3 viewer, which does not support Power PC processors. Is this change permanent?

see obvious below

Darn it! I have been using that old laptop for eight years. I knew this day was coming, I guess its time to upgrade. Does anyone know if the problem with the newest mac os has been fixed?

right-click the old SL viewer and select "show package contents"

move down to the contents/resources folder

there should already be a file arguments.txt inside, open that with textedit.

If there is a line starting with --channel, change it to something else like "Ancient Viewer"

If there isn't a line like that, add it. --channel "Ancient Viewer"

save that and the old viewer should stop demanding updates. it may not work very well with Second Life any more, but by now you probably knew this.

ObviousAltIsObvious wrote:

right-click the old SL viewer and select "show package contents"

move down to the contents/resources folder

there should already be a file arguments.txt inside, open that with textedit.

If there is a line starting with --channel, change it to something else like "Ancient Viewer"

If there isn't a line like that, add it.
--channel "Ancient Viewer"

save that and the old viewer should stop demanding updates. it may not work very well with Second Life any more, but by now you probably knew this.

I wasn't going to suggest obfuscation but isn't there also a 'viewer id #' they can block log ins by?